Hockey on Today’s Menu

I’ve been receiving updates from the TTHBSEC (Trinidad and Tobago Hockey Board (Secondary Schools’)) for the last three years since 2012. This is my first update based on their indepth intel. 

St. Anthony’s win North Zone Championships

Diego Martin Central v St. Mary's College "B" in the third-place match. Image Courtesy Trinidad and Tobago Hockey:
Diego Martin Central v St. Mary’s College “B” in the third-place match. Image Courtesy Trinidad and Tobago Hockey:

St. Anthony’s College won the North Zone Championship after defeating Trinity College, Moka on penalties as the competition came to a close at the St. James’ Barracks yesterday. The Premiership title was decided when Fatima saw off their rivals Queen’s Royal College with a 2-0 win. During the earlier match at the barracks, Diego Martin Central destroyed St. Mary’s College “B” 4-0 to claim third place.

Joel Daniel (5th and 14th) and Isaiah Moore (33rd and 34th) both shared two goals apiece in the third-place contest. The Final however, was not such a straightforward affair. Trinity’s Jarion Osuona opened the score in the 36th minute after a closely-contested opening sequence – he pounced on a loose ball from close range. “The Saints’” Jovan Wren, equalised two minutes later when he confidently dispatched his shot into the bottom corner leaving the keeper with no chance. In the final minute, Justin Beharry almost stole a winner for the Moka boys, but missed the resulting penalty after Kenny Brathwaite was pole-axed in the “D”. In the penalty shootout, St. Anthony’s net minder Shane Walker was the saviour as his timely saves allowed Christian Cowie to convert the winning stroke.

In the final match, Fatima would need only a draw to confirm the title, and after a scoreless first half, things seemed to be going to plan. Kwasi Emmanuel’s overzealous tackling and Jadel Poon-Lewis’ saves kept the Mucurapo boys at bay, however Fatima took the lead in the 29th minute when a neat build up play was sealed by an excellent finish by Scott Pichery. Teague Marcano doubled the advantage after a period of sustained pressure; rounding the Royalian keeper on his way to scoring. Fatima were not only able to claim the title, but dethrone their rivals in the process.

Debe and Woodbrook, the last-placed teams in the boys and girls’ prem have been relegated to the zonal championships for the 2016 season. The 4th placed teams QRC (boys) and SEPoS (girls) will join zonal champions in the East North Gate (boys) and SAGHS (girls) the South Pleasantville (boys)and the North St. Anthony’s College (boys) and Corpus Christi (girls) in the Promotion Playoffs where teams will battle round robin style with the top two teams gaining promotion to the 2016 premiership league. As there was no Girls South Championship the (4th) final promotion playoff spot will be granted to the winner between Bishops East (2nd in the east) and Bishops Anstey (2nd in the north). Venues and dates for the playoffs have yet to be determined.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s